Planetary Kingdom

Nine planets have their own significance in planetary kingdom of vedic astrology. The Kingdom is metaphor for your "SELF" and the significance of planets resonates with your own attributes. The specific position each planet has been assigned in planetary kingdom relates to its natural traits and similar could be judged from analyzing dominant planets in ones horoscope.

Sun (Surya) - The king of Planetary Kingdom, as usual occupies the Throne or center stage. In Humans, Sun represents your Soul. Sun lords Sign Leo (Simha) and hence the Sign gets the center position in the sign hierarchy.


Moon (Chandra) - The Queen of Planetary Kingdom, joins King by his side and occupies second position to the Sun. In Humans, Moon represents your Mind. Moon lords Cancer (Karka) and hence the sign gets next position is Sign hierarchy.

Cancer, Leo
Moon, Sun

Mercury (Budha) - The Prince of Planetary Kingdom obviously joins royal couple, next to them. In Humans, Mercury represents your Speech and Communication. Mercury lords Gemini and Virgo, so the signs flank the royal signs from both sides.

Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo
Mercury, Moon, Leo, Mercury

Who would King want to occupy the next seat ? Obviously someone who's sharp enough to be preceptor of the demons, someone with practical intelligence, and admiration for beauty and luxuries. Who could be better suited for the position than Shukracharya, the reviver of the dead.

Venus (Shukra) - The Materialistic Minister takes the next position. In Humans, Venus represents your Lust and Desires. Venus lords Taurus and Libra, so the signs flank Mercurial signs from both side.

Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra
Venus, Mercury, Moon, Leo, Mercury, Venus

Who next ? Security comes next to protect the royals and his luxuries. 

Mars (Mangal) - The commander in chief picks up the next position. In Humans, Mars represents your Valor and Strength. Mars lords Aries and Scorpio, so the signs flank Venusian signs from both sides.

Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio
Mars, Venus, Mercury, Moon, Leo, Mercury, Venus, Mars

The King with his family, minister and commander is all set. Next we need is a Guru, who could show right from wrong, in the life full of Maya or Illusions.

Jupiter (Vrahaspati or Guru) - The Spiritual Minister gets the next seat. In Humans, Jupiter represents your Knowledge and overall Happiness. The 'Preceptors of the Gods' lords Sagittarius and Pisces, so the signs flank Martian sign from both sides.

Pisces, Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius
Jupiter, Mars, Venus, Mercury, Moon, Leo, Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter

Next we need administrators, workers and public servants to run the kingdom.

Saturn (Shani Dev) - The administrator and messenger of the planetary kingdom, also represents the worker class. In Humans, Saturn represents your Miseries, Restrictions and Sorrows. Saturn lords Aquarius and Capricorn, so the signs flank either side of Jupiter signs.

Aquarius, Pisces, Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn
Saturn, Jupiter, Mars, Venus, Mercury, Moon, Leo, Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn

Nodes - Rahu and Ketu represents the illusions and delusions that envelop the planetary Kingdom. They are karmic planets along with Saturn, and carry forward your karma from past and future lives. Only Nodes have the power to engulf the luminaries - The king and Queen.